Conviction

Author: Julia Dahl
Homepage_9780571342778

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $19.99(AUD)
  • : 9780571342778
  • : Faber & Faber, Limited
  • : Faber & Faber, Limited
  • :
  • :
  • : March 2018
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 24mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : 19.99
  • : March 2018
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Julia Dahl
  • : Paperback
  • : Main
  • : 400
  • :
Barcode 9780571342778
9780571342778

Description

Journalist Rebekah Roberts works at New York City's sleaziest tabloid, but dreams of bigger things. When she receives a letter from a convicted murderer claiming his innocence, she sees both a story she can't ignore and, possibly, a chance.Twenty-two years earlier, just after the Crown Heights riots exploded between the black and Jewish neighbourhoods in Brooklyn, DeShawn Perkins was convicted of the brutal murder of his adoptive family. Rebekah's search for the truth is obscured by the decades that have elapsed: almost no one wants to talk about that grim, violent time in New York City - not even Saul Katz, a former NYPD cop and once her inside source.A searing exploration of the tensions between New York's closed communities, Conviction is a novel about the power - and cost - of loyalty and denial.

Promotion info

A great new voice in US crime, for fans of Megan Abbott, Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn