What The Night Sings

Author(s): Vesper Stamper

Fiction

For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas comes a lushly illustrated novel about a teen Holocaust survivor, who must come to terms with who she is and how to rebuild her life.

"A tour de force. This powerful story of love, loss, and survival is not to be missed." --KRISTIN HANNAH, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale

After losing her family and everything she knew in the Nazi concentration camps, Gerta is finally liberated, only to find herself completely alone. Without her Papa, her music, or even her true identity, she must move past the task of surviving and onto living her life. In the displaced persons camp where she is staying, Gerta meets Lev, a fellow teen survivor who she just might be falling for, despite her feelings for someone else. With a newfound Jewish identity she never knew she had, and a return to the life of music she thought she lost forever, Gerta must choose how to build a new future.

"What the Night Sings is a bookfrom the heart, of the heart, and to the heart. Vesper Stamper's Gerta will stay with you long after you turn the last page. Her story is one of hope and redemption and life -- a blessing to the world." -- Deborah Heiligman, award-winning author of Charles and Emma and Vincent and Theo

$29.99(AUD)

Albert Park
Available Stock:
2
Elsternwick
Available Stock:
1
Richmond
Available Stock:
1

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Vesper Stamper is an author/illustrator living in the Northeast with her husband, filmmaker Ben Stamper and her two children. She has an MFA in Illustration as Visual Essay from School of Visual Arts, NYC. Follow her on Instagram and Facebook @vesperillustration, and learn more atavesperillustration.com.

General Fields

  • : 9781524700386
  • : Random House Children's Books
  • : Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • : February 2018
  • : 1.2 Inches X 7.38 Inches X 9.31 Inches
  • : United States
  • : April 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 272
  • : Hardback