The Storm Makers

Author(s): Jennifer E. Smith

Middle Readers

A wonderful adventure for children from an author at the top of her game. For fans of Lauren St John and Eva Ibbotson. What starts as an ordinary summer turns exciting and perilous for twins Ruby and Simon when strange things start happening on their farm - sudden gusts of wind, rainstorms, and even tornado warnings - that seem eerily connected to Simon's emotions. Then a stranger arrives and tells the twins that Simon is a Storm Maker - part of a clandestine group of people entrusted with controlling and taming the weather - and that he is in great danger. Simon and Ruby must race against the clock as they try to master Simon's powers in time to stop a rogue Storm Maker's treacherous - and potentially deadly - plans. In this thrilling new adventure, loyalties can shift as quickly as the wind...and the ordinary can turn extraordinary in the blink of an eye.

$12.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A rich new 9-11 adventure filled with friendship and mystery in the tradition of Lauren St John and Eva Ibbotson

'It's easy to root for the twins, especially smart, science-savvy Ruby, who stands by her brother while struggling with her jealousy about his special status' -- Publishers Weekly 'Building like a summer storm, the pace and drama accelerate as thunderstorms, earthquakes, wildfires and tornadoes buffet the twin protagonists, who stand together as they face the elements...Credible and timely fantasy for the global-warming generation' -- Booklist

Jennifer E. Smith grew up outside of Chicago and graduated from Colgate University. She earned her master's in creative writing from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, and currently lives in New York City. Smith is an editor at Random House, and she previously worked at ICM.

General Fields

  • : 9781472201447
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Book Publishing
  • : December 2012
  • : 197mm X 146mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 384
  • : 513
  • : Paperback
  • : Jennifer E. Smith