Revolution in the Head: the Beatles records and the Sixties (3rd edition 2008)

Author(s): Ian MacDonald


As dazzling as the decade they dominated, The Beatles almost single-handedly created pop music as we know it. Today, their songs are cited as seminal influences by stars like Oasis, Blur and Kula Shaker. Eloquently giving voice to their time, The Beatles quite simply changed the world. Fully updated to include material from "The Beatles Live at the BBC" and the Anthology series, this acclaimed book goes back to the heart of The Beatles - their records. Drawing on a unique resource of knowledge and experience to 'read' their 241 tracks - chronologically from their first amateur efforts in 1957 to 'Real Love', their final 'reunion' recording in 1995 - Ian MacDonald has created an engrossing classic of popular criticism in which the extraordinary songs of The Beatles remain a central and continually surprising presence.


Available Stock:
On Order:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

If you are a fan of the Beatles at all, then this is a "MUST HAVE" book. Every recording session, and reason behind what they wrote and why they wrote it. Brilliant!

Alicia, The Book Grocer

General Fields

  • : 9780099526797
  • : Penguin Random House
  • : Vintage
  • : 0.381
  • : December 2008
  • : 3.4 Centimeters X 12.9 Centimeters X 19.8 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 544
  • : Paperback
  • : Ian MacDonald