Raven Black (Shetland Island #1)

Author(s): Ann Cleeves

Young Adult

Raven Black is the first book in Ann Cleeves' Shetland series -- which is now the major BBC1 drama starring Douglas Henshall, SHETLAND. It is a cold January morning and Shetland lies buried beneath a deep layer of snow. Trudging home, Fran Hunter's eye is drawn to a vivid splash of colour on the white ground, ravens circling above. It is the strangled body of her teenage neighbour Catherine Ross. As Fran opens her mouth to scream, the ravens continue their deadly dance ...The locals on the quiet island stubbornly focus their gaze on one man -- loner and simpleton Magnus Tait. But when police insist on opening out the investigation a veil of suspicion and fear is thrown over the entire community. For the first time in years, Catherine's neighbours nervously lock their doors, whilst a killer lives on in their midst. Also available in the Shetland series are White Nights, Red Bones, Blue Lightning and Dead Water. Ann Cleeves' Vera Stanhope series (ITV television drama VERA) contains five titles, of which The Glass Room is the most recent.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

In addition to Raven Black, Ann has written four novels of psychological suspense: The Crow Trap, The Sleeping and the Dead, Burial of Ghosts and Telling Tales. She lives in West Yorkshire.

General Fields

  • : 9780330512947
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Pan Books
  • : January 2010
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 320
  • : 1
  • : Paperback
  • : Ann Cleeves